Newbie..

Questions and general discussion on all things Type 3 & 4
vw4me

Newbie..

Post by vw4me » 11th November 2014 - 9:11pm

Hello Everyone,

As the title says Im a newbie to this site, and indeed a newbie to T3's.
At the moment I am researching/looking into buying a squareback, but currently own a T4, which I hope to sell to fund buying a squareback.
I was wondering if anyone could spare me five minutes, and tell me what its like to own one. I know you (we) are enthusiasts about these vehicles, but I imagine that the enthusiam can somewhat wane after one disaster after another. Just a warts and all opinion...
I have been reading buyers guides, what to look out for when buying one, but inevitably, parts will be needed. Are they reasonably available, with a bit of hard work and digging around to find them?

I am in the lucky position that I dont need a car for work, and that I have a double garage which my T4 sits in at the moment, but I would like to see replaced with a squareback. If i drive 50 miles a week, thats a lot of driving for me....

I understand that owning a vehicle like this is a labour of love, but i have to say, I love the look of these cars.

Anyway, if anyone could spare me five minutes of their time, I'd really appreciate it.

Antony

purplepeter

Re: Newbie..

Post by purplepeter » 11th November 2014 - 10:24pm

Type 3's are Lovely to drive & own!
The General rule of thumb is that if You see parts, You buy them.. Accordingly, most of us have a cars worth or more of spares, but getting anyone to admit to what they've got can be tricky!
The spares situation isn't as easy as other aircooled vw's, But most parts can be obtained by hook or by crook eventually.

Editor

Post by Editor » 11th November 2014 - 10:42pm

Hello Antony, and welcome to the Forum.
Just wondering if your 'T4' is a Type 4 (411/412), or a Type 2 T4 (Bus ).