1973 FASTBACK PLEASE HELP ME!

Questions and general discussion on all things Type 3 & 4
chevrolet6291

1973 FASTBACK PLEASE HELP ME!

Post by chevrolet6291 » 7th February 2007 - 11:01am

I have a 1973 1600E Fastback auto, whenever I start it up it takes nearly 10 mins before I can actually drive it else it keeps cutting out, anyone have any ideas? Also, I want some alloy wheels, wheres the best place to get them and what should i look for (offset?) Thanks folks... Lorna
Lola

flat4fanatic

Post by flat4fanatic » 7th February 2007 - 3:16pm

Afraid I can't help with the running issue, but cheapest place to get some alloys would probably be dubfreeze on the 18th

miketyp3

Post by miketyp3 » 7th February 2007 - 5:32pm

I'm no expert by a long way, but I don't think there are any issues with 4 stud alloys on Type 3's
The cheaper (MWS) BRM's rub on 5 stud Type 3 rear arches, so you may want to avoid the 4 stud version if it has a simular offset.

Mike.

steveatutopia

Post by steveatutopia » 10th February 2007 - 2:54pm

It sounds like the chokes could be a little slow on warm up (restricting air to the engine and chokeing out) or some sort of tuneing problem (unlikely as it runs fine after warm up)
An automatic rellys on a constant engine speed and power when in drive to drive the torque converter.
Any problems with the engines idleing will cause it to cut out.
Also look for any air leaks on the inlet as this can cause odd running issues.
I used to have a bay window automatic that cut out on warm up, so it sounds like the same sort of problems. :)

Editor

Post by Editor » 10th February 2007 - 3:54pm

1600E - still fuel injection?
There's an auxiliary air intake that acts as a 'choke' by allowing a bit of extra air into the big aluminium chamber and makes the fuel injection system think you've got the throttle a bit open.